Home News “Yellowjackets” Season 2 Soundtrack Launch Includes New Track from Alanis Morissette

“Yellowjackets” Season 2 Soundtrack Launch Includes New Track from Alanis Morissette

by admin
Yellowjackets Season 2 Soundtrack

The highly anticipated soundtrack from the second season of Showtime’s popular series, “Yellowjackets”, is set to be released. Available on CD and digital platforms on September 1 through Universal Music Canada, it will also be issued in double LP vinyl formats in the months to follow.

The soundtrack’s lineup is a nostalgic nod to ’90s alternative rock, showcasing beloved tracks from iconic bands such as Nirvana, the Cranberries, Elliott Smith, Garbage, and Veruca Salt. In addition to these classics, the album boasts fresh tunes, including two variations of Alanis Morissette’s rendition of the series’ theme song, an original piece by series guest star John Cameron Mitchell with Elijah Wood, and Florence and the Machine’s unique take on No Doubt’s “Just a Girl”. Scroll down to see the album art and complete list of songs.

“Yellowjackets”, starring Christina Ricci, Juliette Lewis, Melanie Lynskey among others, is set in two eras – the ’90s and present-day, and has consistently utilized alternative rock music to great effect throughout its duration. The second season aired earlier this year, beginning in March and concluding in May.

For a deep dive into the ’90s alt-rock sound of “Yellowjackets”, the most gripping show currently on television, check out the Pitch’s feature: “Inside the ’90s Alt-Rock Sound of Yellowjackets”.

Yellowjackets Season 2 Official Soundtrack: Music from The Original Series:

01 Alanis Morissette: “No Return”
02 Florence and the Machine: “Just a Girl”
03 Nirvana: “Something in the Way”
04 Live: “Lightning Crashes”
05 The Cranberries: “Zombie”
06 Garbage: “#1 Crush”
07 Pulp: “Sorted for E’s & Wizz”
08 Veruca Salt: “Seether”
09 Necking: “Big Mouth”
10 Papa Roach: “Last Resort”
11 4 Non Blondes: “What’s Up?”
12 Sparks: “Angst in My Pants”
13 John Cameron Mitchell: “Sit Right Down” [ft. Elijah Wood, Craig Wedren and Anna Waronker]
14 Nouvelle Vague: “The Killing Moon”
15 Elliott Smith: “Pitseleh”
16 Alanis Morissette: “No Return (Lottie’s Dream Sequence – Alt Version)”

Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs) about Yellowjackets Season 2 Soundtrack

When is the “Yellowjackets” Season 2 soundtrack set to be released?

The “Yellowjackets” Season 2 soundtrack is set to be released on September 1, available on both CD and digital platforms. Vinyl editions will follow in the coming months.

What is the “Yellowjackets” Season 2 soundtrack set to include?

The soundtrack includes a blend of ’90s alt-rock classics from bands like Nirvana, the Cranberries, and Garbage, along with new music. Notably, two versions of Alanis Morissette’s cover of the series theme song and an original track by John Cameron Mitchell featuring Elijah Wood are featured.

Which artists are featured on the “Yellowjackets” Season 2 soundtrack?

Artists featured include Alanis Morissette, Florence and the Machine, Nirvana, Live, The Cranberries, Garbage, Pulp, Veruca Salt, Necking, Papa Roach, 4 Non Blondes, Sparks, John Cameron Mitchell, Nouvelle Vague, and Elliott Smith.

What is the series “Yellowjackets” about?

“Yellowjackets” is a popular Showtime series starring Christina Ricci, Juliette Lewis, Melanie Lynskey, among others. The plot unfolds over two timelines – the ’90s and the present day. The series consistently utilizes alternative rock music throughout its duration.

When did Season 2 of “Yellowjackets” premiere and conclude?

Season 2 of “Yellowjackets” premiered in March and concluded in May of the same year.

More about Yellowjackets Season 2 Soundtrack

You may also like


RockFan93 July 22, 2023 - 4:25 am

oh man, so stoked for this!! been binge watching Yellowjackets and the music is just the cherry on top. Alanis’ cover is gonna be dope, i know it!

DizzyLiz July 22, 2023 - 5:04 am

This is the perfect blend of nostalgia and new! Love how they’ve mixed classic alt-rock with new artists covering the theme song… September can’t come soon enough!

Alt90sLover July 22, 2023 - 9:47 pm

Woah! This is like a dream come true! Classic 90’s bands like Nirvana, Cranberries and Garbage all in one place… take my money already!


Leave a Comment